Denton DWI Attorney
Board Certified – Less Than 10% of Attorneys in Texas Are Board Certified.
If you have been charged with a driving while intoxicated offense in Texas, you may be facing jail time and a significant fine.
Other issues that can arise causing long term consequences include having your driver’s license suspended and increased insurance rates.
What happens if you have been arrested for DWI?
- When you are pulled over, the officer will usually ask a few questions aimed at getting incriminating information from you.l
- You will be given Field Sobriety Tests and, if in the opinion of the officer, you fail them, you will be arrested.
- You will be asked to provide a specimen of your breath or blood. If you decide to provide a breath specimen, you will be transported to a police station for the breath test.
- For a blood specimen, they will take you to a hospital to draw your blood.
What are the penalties for a DWI?
- First offense DWI with an alcohol content of less than .15 carries a potential punishment of a fine up to $2000 and/or a jail sentence from 3-180 days.
- A second DWI offense carries a potential punishment of a fine up to $4000 and/or jail from 30 days to 1 year.
- A third DWI offense is a felony with a fine up to $10,000 and/0r 2-10 years in prison.
- A DWI with a child passenger can result in not more than 2 years or less than 180 days in a State Jail facility and a fine up to $10,000.
- An intoxication assault carries a fine up to $10,000 and 2-10 years in prison.
- Intoxication manslaughter has a fine up to $10,000 and/or a 2-20 year prison term.
Attorney Henry Paine has been defending those facing serious criminal charges for over 40 years.
Attorney Henry Paine routinely handles the following types of criminal matters below.